Course Length: 5 days

Course Overview

CompTIA Security+ is a global certification that validates the baseline skills necessary to perform core security functions and is the first security certification a candidate should earn.

CompTIA Security+ establishes the core knowledge required of any cybersecurity role and provides a springboard to intermediate-level cybersecurity jobs.

This course teaches to the SYO-07 Exam requirements.

Course Objectives

  • Assess the security posture of an enterprise environment and recommend and implement appropriate security solutions.
  • Monitor and secure hybrid environments, including cloud, mobile, and IoT.
  • Operate with an awareness of applicable laws and policies, including principles of governance, risk, and compliance.
  • Identify, analyze, and respond to security events and incidents.

Who Should Attend

This course is designed for people who are seeking to launch a career in cybersecurity.

Course Prerequisites

There are no prerequisites for this course.

Course Outline

Summarize Fundamental Security Concepts

  • Security Concepts
  • Security Controls

Compare Threat Types

  • Threat Actors
  • Attack Surfaces
  • Social Engineering

Explain Cryptographic Solutions

  • Cryptographic Algorithms
  • Public Key Infrastructure
  • Cryptographic Solutions

Implement Identity and Access Management

  • Authentication
  • Authorization
  • Identity Management

Secure Enterprise Network Architecture

  • Enterprise Network Architecture
  • Network Security Appliances
  • Secure Communications

Secure Cloud Network Architecture

  • Cloud Infrastructure
  • Embedded Systems and Zero Trust Architecture

Explain Resiliency and Site Security Concepts

  • Asset Management
  • Redundancy Strategies
  • Physical Security

Explain Vulnerability Management

  • Device and OS Vulnerabilities
  • Application and Cloud Vulnerabilities
  • Vulnerability Identification Methods
  • Vulnerability Analysis and Remediation

Evaluate Network Security Capabilities

  • Network Security Baselines
  • Network Security Capability Enhancement

Assess Endpoint Security Capabilities

  • Implement Endpoint Security
  • Mobile Device Hardening

Enhance Application Security Capabilities

  • Application Protocol Security Baselines
  • Cloud and Web Application Security Concepts

Explain Incident Response and Monitoring Concepts

  • Incident Response
  • Digital Forensics
  • Data Sources
  • Alerting and Monitoring Tools

Analyze Indicators of Malicious Activity

  • Malware Attack Indicators
  • Physical and Network Attack Indicators
  • Application Attack Indicators

Summarize Security Governance Concepts

  • Policies, Standards, and Procedures
  • Change Management
  • Automation and Orchestration

Explain Risk Management Processes

  • Risk Management Processes and Concepts
  • Vendor Management Concepts
  • Audits and Assessments

Summarize Data Protection and Compliance Concepts

  • Data Classification and Compliance
  • Personnel Policies